In Wyoming, you must provide proof of insurance at the time you register your car. The state outlines minimum coverage standards that all drivers who operate a vehicle on state roadways must maintain.
If you are at fault for an accident, you will be responsible for any costs incurred in the accident. This could include property damage and physical injury. Remember that you’ll need enough coverage to cover both you and the other parties involved if you’re at fault.
You must obtain an insurance policy that covers at least these amounts for liability:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,00 per accident for bodily injury
- $20,000 per accident for property damage
Most experts consider these figures starting points and strongly recommend securing coverage far in excess of the state minimum.
Always carry proof of insurance in your vehicle. The easiest way to do this is by keeping your insurance card in your car’s glove box.
Failure to comply with Wyoming state auto insurance laws can result in significant fines. Most first offenses are assessed with at least a $250 fine – but it could be much more. Second offenses generally result in double fines. A driver who is found to be operating a vehicle uninsured also can face jail time. Always keep your policy current and pay your bills on time so you can avoid the prospect of these legal issues.
Wyoming Dept. of Insurance
East 122 West 25th St.
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Toll Free: 1-800-438-5768
Web Site: insurance.state.wy.us
Email: [email protected]
Wyoming (WY) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 25/50/20 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory auto insurance: Fine up to $750 plus jail term up to 6 months