Nebraska Drivers License Hardship Law

Drivers Hardship License Law – General – Nebraska

1. DOES THE AGENCY (MOTOR VEHICLE/DOT) LAW PROVIDE FOR HARDSHIP LICENSES?

A person, except a driver of a commercial motor vehicle, may be granted driving privileges, under an employment driving permit as provided by section 60-4,129 or a medical hardship driving permit as provided in section 60-4,130.01.

The Employment Drive Permit is available to driver’s who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Nebraska Point System, Administrative License Revocation and for a three (3) month time period for Violating a Support Order. This permit can be used to drive from home to work and return, and strictly in reference to the terms of employment. (The permit cannot be used for shopping, probationary meetings, school, etc.) The issuance of such permit is based upon meeting all appropriate requirements and certification that the use of the vehicle is required as part of your employment.

Driver’s revoked for an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) must serve 30 days of the 90-day revocation before being eligible for the permit.

The Medical Hardship Permit is available to driver’s who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Nebraska Point System. This permit can be used to drive from home or place of employment to a specified hospital, clinic, doctor’s office, or similar location and return. (The permit cannot be used for employment, shopping, probationary meetings, school, etc.)

The holder of the Medical Hardship Permit must be the patient – it does not cover medical conditions for other family members. If approved, the permit would be valid for a 90 day time period. At the expiration of the permit, the driver may reapply for a permit in the same manner as the original application.

2. WHAT IS THE E.D.P.?

This permit was authorized by Nebraska State Statute 60-4,129, and it allows a work drive permit for individuals who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Point System and the ninety (90) day Administrative License Revocation.

This permit can be used to drive from home to work and return, and strictly in reference to the terms of employment. It cannot be used for shopping, doctor’s appointment, probationary meetings, school (unless school is required and subsidized by employer), etc.

The issuance of such permit is based upon meeting all appropriate requirements and certification that the use of the vehicle is required as part of one’s employment and there is no reasonable alternative means of transportation.

3. WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR AN EDP?

Only those individuals whose driving privileges have been revoked under the point system and the ninety (90) day administrative license evocation are eligible. Any individual who applies for a work permit under the 90-day Administrative License Revocation shall not be eligible for issuance of the permit until after 30 days of the revocation has elapsed. An individual, who is eligible to be reinstated on any prior suspension/revocation, must be reinstated on that suspension/revocation in order to be eligible for an Employment Drive Permit.

4. WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR GETTING AN EDP?

(1) Upon request, the appropriate application form will be forwarded or it can be downloaded from the Department of Motor Vehicles website http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/
(2) Contents of such application form will include:

a) General application statement (Please complete all personal information regardless if registering to vote or not.);
b) If self-employed, a Schedule C or Schedule F, Form 1120 or 1120S income tax form (required if the business has filed income tax); if taxes have not been filed – letterhead stationery, business card, etc. (something to prove self-employment);
c) An employer’s statement, a completed affidavit describing the necessity and details of such need (If more than one employer, each employer must complete and sign (signature(s) must be notarized) Section III of application form.);
d) An affidavit certifying no alternative means of transportation; and e) Certification that the applicant will attend and complete within 60 days, an 8-hour driver improvement course approved by the department of motor vehicles.

(3) The application form must be submitted for evaluation and review and the Department must be able to confirm employment by telephone. In addition, you must surrender the revoked Nebraska Operator’s License (if not already surrendered).

(4) Proof of financial responsibility may be given by one of the following:

a) By filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. The certificate of insurance is identified by form SR-22. Your policy or a binder is not acceptable as the proper identification of your proof of financial responsibility.
b) A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501 ($75,000.00).
c) A Cash bond in the amount of $75,000.00 furnished by a certified check, bank draft, or money order.

(5)$45.00 money order made payable to Department of Motor Vehicles.

5.WHERE DO I APPLY?

Write to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Employment Driving Permit Program, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94877, Lincoln, NE 68509. The Department must meet all statutory requirements in review and evaluation of the application.

NON-PAYMENT OF SUPPORT SUSPENSIONS AND REVOCATIONS

Nebraska State Statute 60-4,129 authorizes this permit and it allows a work drive permit for individuals who have forfeited their regular driving privileges for non-payment of a support order.

6. HOW LONG IS THE WORK DRIVE PERMIT VALID FOR?

An individual is eligible to apply for the permit anytime during the suspension and can be issued only one permit during the suspension period. The employment drive permit is valid for three months from the issuance date of the permit and is not renewable.

7.WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR A WORK DRIVE PERMIT?

(1)Upon request, appropriate application form will be forwarded.
(2)Contents of such application form will include:

a) General application statement (please complete all personal information regardless if registering to vote or not.);
b) If self-employed, a Schedule C or Schedule F, Form 1120 or 1120S income tax form (required if the business has filed income tax); if taxes have not been filed – letterhead stationery, business card, etc. (something to prove self-employment);
c) An employer’s statement, a completed affidavit describing the necessity and details of such need (If more than one employer, each employer must complete and sign (signature(s) must be notarized) Section III of application form.);
d)An affidavit certifying no alternative means of transportation. In addition, you must surrender the suspended Nebraska Operator’s License (if not already surrendered).

(3)Proof of financial responsibility may be given by one of the following:

a) By filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. The certificate of insurance is identified by form SR-22. Your policy or a binder is not acceptable as the proper identification of your proof of financial responsibility.
b) A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501 ($75,000.00).
c) A Cash bond in the amount of $75,000.00 furnished by a certified check, bank draft, or money order.

(4) A $45.00 money order made out to Department of Motor Vehicles.

8. WHAT IS THE MEDICAL HARDSHIP PERMIT?

Nebraska State Statute 60-4,130.01 authorized this permit, and it allows a Medical Hardship Driving Permit for individuals who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Point System.

This permit can be used to drive from home or place of employment to a hospital, clinic, doctor’s office, or similar location and return. It cannot be used for shopping, probationary meetings or school.

The issuance of such permit is based upon meeting all appropriate requirements and certification that the use of the vehicle is required as part of one’s medical hardship and there is no reasonable alternative means of transportation.

9. WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR A MEDICAL HARDSHIP PERMIT?

Only those individuals whose driving privileges have been revoked under the point system are eligible. An individual, who is eligible to be reinstated on any prior suspension/revocation, must be reinstated on that suspension/revocation in order to be eligible for a Medical Hardship Driving Permit.

10. WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS?

(1) Upon request, appropriate application form will be forwarded.
(2) Contents of such application form will include:

a) General application statement;
b) physician affidavit, a complete affidavit describing the necessity and details of such need (if more than one physician, each physician must complete Section II of the application form);
c) an affidavit certifying no alternative means of transportation.

(3) The application form must be submitted for evaluation and review. In addition, you must surrender the revoked Nebraska Operator’s License (if not already surrendered).
(4) Proof of financial responsibility may be given by one of the following:

a) By filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. The certificate of insurance is identified by form SR-22. Your policy or a binder is not acceptable as the proper identification of your proof of financial responsibility.
b) A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501 ($75,000.00).
c) A Cash bond in the amount of $75,000.00 furnished by a certified check, bank draft, or money order.

(5) A $45.00 money order made out to Department of Motor Vehicles.

11. WHERE DO I APPLY?

Write to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Medical Hardship Driving Permit Program, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94877, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877. The Department must meet all statutory requirements in review and evaluation of the application.


Inside Nebraska Drivers License Hardship Law