State Lemon Laws

ALABAMA: See Article 8, Chapter 20A of the Alabama Code of 1975. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

ALASKA: See Title 45, Chapter 45, Sections 300 to 360 of the Alaska Statutes. Requires three repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

ARIZONA: See Sections 44.1261 to 1265 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

ARKANSAS: See Title 4, Chapter 90, Sections 401 to 417 of Arkansas Statutes. Requires one repair attempt for defect that may cause death or serious injury or three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

CALIFORNIA: See California Civil Code 1793.22, the Tauner Consumer Protection Act. Requires two repair attempts for a defect which may cause death or serious injury or four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

COLORADO: See Colorado Statutes 42-10-101 to 107. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

CONNECTICUT: See Connecticut Statutes, Title 42, Chapter 743b for new vehicles, Chapter 743f for used vehicles. Requires two repair attempts if there is a serious safety hazard, otherwise four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

DELAWARE: See Title 6, Subtitle II, Chapter 50, Sections 5001 to 5009. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: See DC Code, Division VIII, Title 50, Subtitle II, Chapter 5. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

FLORIDA: See Florida Statutes Annotated, Chapter 681. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

GEORGIA: See Georgia Code, Section 10-1-780. Requires one attempt for a serious safety defect in braking or steering systems, otherwise three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

HAWAII: See Hawaii Revised Statutes, Chapter 481i. Requires one repair for defects which may cause death or serious injury, otherwise three repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

IDAHO: See Titles 48, Chapter 9, Sections 901-903. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

ILLINOIS: See Chapter 815, 815 ILCS, Section 815.380. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

INDIANA: See Indiana Code Section 24-5-13. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

IOWA: See Iowa Code, Chapter 322G, Sections 1 to 15. Requires one repair attempt for defects that may cause death or serious injury, otherwise three repair attempts plus a final attempt or 30 calendar days out of service.

KANSAS: See Kansas Statutes, Chapter 50-645 to 646. Requires four repair attempts or ten repair attempts for different defects, otherwise 30 calendar days out of service.

KENTUCKY: See KRS 367.840 to 846, also KRS 860 to 870. Requires four repair attempts or 30 days out of service.

LOUISIANA: See Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 51, Sections 1941 to 1948. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

MAINE: See Title 10, Chapter 203A, Sections 1161 to 1169. Requires three repair attempts or 15 business days out of service.

MARYLAND: See Statutes under Commercial Law, 12-1504 and 14-501. Requires one unsuccessful repair for braking or steering system failures, otherwise four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

MICHIGAN: See MCL 257.1401 et seq. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

MINNESOTA: See Minnesota Statutes Annotated, 325F.665 for new cars, 325F.662 for used ones. Requires one unsuccessful repair for braking or steering system failures, otherwise four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

MISSISSIPPI: See Statute Sectiosnns 63-17-151 to 165. Requires three repair attempts or 15 working days out of service.

MISSOURI: See Missouri Revised Statutes 407.560 to 579. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

MONTANA: See Montana Code, Title 61, Chapter, Part 5, Section 61-4-501. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

NEBRASKA: See Chapter 60 (Motor Vehicles), Sections 60-2701 to 2709. Requires four repair attempts or 40 business days out of service.

NEVADA: See Nevada Revised Statutes, 597.600 to 680. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

NEW HAMPSHIRE: See Title 31, Chapter 3570. Requires three repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

NEW JERSEY: See Title 56, Sections 56-12-29 to 49. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

NEW MEXICO: See Chapter 57, Article 16A. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

NEW YORK: See New York State General Business Laws (GBL), Section 198a for new vehicles, Section 198b for used vehicles. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Substantial defects must be repaired within 20 days of receipt of notice from the consumer using certified mail.

NORTH CAROLINA: See Chapters 20 of the North Carolina General Statutes, Article 15A. Requires four repair attempts or 20 calendar days out of service.

NORTH DAKOTA: See Title 51 of the Century Code, Sections 51-07-16 to 22. Requires three repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

OHIO: See ORC 1345.71 to 78. Requires one repair attempt for condition likely to cause death or injury, three repair attempts for same defect, eight total repair attempts, or 30 calendar days out of service.

OKLAHOMA: See Section 15-901 of the Oklahoma Statutes. Requires four repair attempts or 45 calendar days out of service.

OREGON: See ORS 646.315 to 75. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

PENNSYLVANIA: See Pennsylvania Statutes Annotated, Title 73, Chapter 28, Sections 1951 to 63. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days outof service.

RHODE ISLAND: See Rhode Island Code, Title 31 (Motor and Other Vehicles), Chapter 31-5.2. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

SOUTH CAROLINA: See Title 56 (Motor Vehicles), Chapter 28, Section 56.28-10. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

SOUTH DAKOTA: See Title 32, Chapter 32-6D.1 to 11. Requires four repair attempts plus a final attempt.

TENNESSEE: See Tennessee Code, Chapter 24, Sections 55-24-201. Requires four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

TEXAS: See Motor Vehicle Commission Code, Article 4413(36) of Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes. Requires two repair attempts for serious defects, otherwise four repair attempts or 30 days out of service.

UTAH: See Utah Administrative Code, Rule R152-20. Requires four repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.

VERMONT: See Chapter 115, Sections 4170 to 4181. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

VIRGINIA: See Title 59.1, Chapter 17.3, Sections 59.1-207.9 to 207.16. Requires one repair for serious safety defect, otherwise three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

WASHINGTON: See RCW Title 19, Chapter 118, Section 19.118.005. Requires two repair attempts for serious safety defect, otherwise four repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

WEST VIRGINIA: See West Virginia Code 46A-6A, Sections 1 to 9. Requires three repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.

WISCONSIN: See Chapter 218.015. Requires four repair attempts or 30 days out of service.

WYOMING: See Title 40, Chapter 17, Section 101. Requires three repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.


Inside State Lemon Laws