Auto insurance is not required in the state of Tennessee. However, there are specific guidelines required of all drivers to maintain proper financial responsibility.
- If you are involved in an accident, you must be able to prove that you have the resources (necessary to pay for damages or injuries caused in the accident. In fact, most drivers in Tennessee have auto insurance.
- If you decide to get auto insurance coverage, you must obtain coverage that meets at least the following state minimums.
- $25,000 for one injury or death
- $50,000 for all injuries or deaths
- $15,000.00 for property damage in a single accident
- You will be asked to provide proof of financial responsibility if you are in an accident or moving violation
- Failure to comply with the state financial responsibility regulations can result in a $100 fine and the suspension of your license.
- If you financed your vehicle, you will be required by your lien holder to get auto insurance.
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0600
Tennessee (TN) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 25/50/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: Fine up to $100