South Carolina has laws mandating minimal levels of protection, insurance or bonding in order to receive and maintain the privilege to operate a motor vehicle if you are a state resident. These laws are intended to provide protection for both parties that may be involved in an auto accident with minimal levels of protection against financial loss.
Vehicle owners are required by law to be able to provide proof that their vehicle is insured if they are stopped by police or state troopers. This proof of registration is also required whenever a vehicle is registered or the registration is renewed
In South Carolina the current minimum level of liability insurance coverage required includes:
- Per Person Bodily Injury coverage of at least $25,000.
- Per Accident Bodily Injury coverage of at least $50,000.
- Property Damage coverage of at least $25,000 per accident.
Proof of insurance is required at all times in South Carolina and if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and you cannot provide proof of insurance you may be fined and imprisoned. If your insurance is terminated for any reason, state law requires that the insurance company notify the state through a Cancellation of Policy form. You will receive notice in the mail from the SCDMV and must reply, submitting verification of insurance or risk having your license and/or registration suspended. To reverse these suspensions you will require fees up to $400.
South Carolina Department of car insurance
300 Arbor Lake Dr.
Columbia, SC 29223
South Carolina Department of Insurance
SC Department of Insurance
Office of Consumer Services
PO Box 100105
Columbia, SC 29202-3105
South Carolina (SC) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 25/50/25 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Other Mandatory Insurance: Uninsured Motorist
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $200 plus jail term up to 30 days