In order to legally operate a vehicle in the state of Pennsylvania, you must carry proof of active liability insurance on your vehicle at all times.
In Pennsylvania, you are required to carry liability insurance at the following minimum levels in order to operate a vehicle on state roads and highways:
- $15,000 for death or injury to any single person involved in an accident
- $30,000 for death or injury to multiple persons involved in any accident
- $5,000 for damages caused to the property of the state or another person
If you fail to maintain the minimum levels of insurance coverage (or no coverage) as required by Pennsylvania state law, you will be hit with a $300 fine, suspension of your driver’s license for three months, and suspension of your vehicle registration for three months. Getting your driver’s license and vehicle registration reinstated will require a $50.00 fee each as well.
Pennsylvania Dept. of car insurance
Regional Office – Harrisburg
Room 1321 Strawberry Square
Third & Walnut Streets
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Regional Office – Philadelphia
Room 1701 State Office Bldg.
1400 Spring Garden St.
Philadelphia, PA 19130
Regional Office – Pittsburgh
Room 304 State Office Bldg.
300 Liberty Av.
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Web Site: www.ins.state.pa.us/ins/site/
Pennsylvania (PA) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 15/30/5 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Other Mandatory Insurance: Personal Injury Protection – No-Fault State
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of $300 Plus Suspension of License and Registration