Oregon- Auto Insurance

Oregon has laws regarding how much and what types of insurance are required in order to be able to legally operate a motor vehicle on state roads and highways. Oregon is one of only a very few states that can actually jail violators of the state’s driving insurance laws.

Guidelines

Oregon law not only mandates minimums for liability insurance coverage in case of an accident, but also requires uninsured motorist coverage as well.

The minimum levels of liability insurance coverage in Oregon are:

  • $25,000 – Per person bodily injury liability
  • $50,000 – Bodily injury liability per accident
  • $10,000 – Property damage per accident
  • $25,000 – Uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 – Uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
  • The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles sends out random requests to ensure compliance. Failure to respond to these requests may result in your driver’s license being suspended. In addition to this suspension, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which can result in fines, and a jail-sentence or possibly both.
  • If you have been found to be without insurance, you will be required to keep proof of insurance on file with the state for a minimum of three years. This is an SR-22 filing that your insurance company will have to maintain with the state that certifies that you are insured. If you allow it to lapse, your driver’s license will be suspended again with stiff penalties requiring payment in order to get it restored.
  • If you are involved in an accident and you do not have the required levels of insurance you will lose the right to drive for at least one year.

Contact:


Physical Address:
Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, Insurance Division
350 Winter St NE Room 440
Salem, Oregon 97301-3883
Mailing Address:
Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services, Insurance Division
PO Box 14480
Salem, OR 97309-0405
Phone: 1-503-947-7980
Fax: 1-503-378-4351

Web Site: www.cbs.state.or.us/external/ins
Email: dcbs.insmail@state.or.us

Oregon (OR) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:

  • Liability: 25/50/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Other Mandatory Insurance: Uninsured Motorist, Personal Injury Protection
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: License suspension or revocation

Inside Oregon- Auto Insurance