Oklahoma- Auto Insurance

Oklahoma is one of the 48 states in which automobile insurance is mandatory for legal vehicle operation. Oklahoma drivers and those who would like to register and operate motor vehicles in the state of Oklahoma should familiarize themselves with the laws and regulations regarding automobile insurance in Oklahoma.

Guidelines

  • Auto insurance is mandatory and you may not be able to register a vehicle without it
  • You must be able to provide proof of your auto insurance policy on demand to police officers or other state agents
  • If you are involved in an accident you must be provide your insurance information to anyone else involved in the incident and to police
  • Oklahoma is a comparative negligence state, meaning that insurance companies assess how much of any property or personal damage each party involved in an accident is responsible for
  • Oklahoma requires that motorists carry at least limited liability auto insurance polices.
  • Non-owner auto insurance is required for motorists who do not own a motor vehicle but still operate motor vehicles.

Motorists in Oklahoma are required to have limited liability auto insurance with the following minimum coverage amounts:

  • $25,000 for injury or death of one person
  • $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons
  • $25,000 for property damage

if you are charged with not having the minimum required automobile insurance or failure to produce proof of that insurance to an officer or agent of the state you face:

  • Up to a $250.00 dollar fine
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration

If your auto insurance policy is canceled, you have thirty days to notify the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety of a new policy. If you fail to do this then your vehicle registration will be suspended.

Contact:

Physical Address Oklahoma City:
Oklahoma Department of Insurance
2401 N.W. 23rd Street, Suite 28
Oklahoma City, OK 73107
Phone: 1-405-521-2828
Toll Free: 1-800-522-0071

Physical Address Tulsa:
Oklahoma Department of Insurance
4157 S. Harvard, Suite. 121
Tulsa, OK 74135
Phone: 1-918-747-7700
Toll Free: 1-800-728-2906

Mailing Address:
Oklahoma Insurance Department
P.O. Box 53408
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3408

Web Site: http://www.ok.gov/oid

Oklahoma (OK) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:

  • Liability: 25/50/25 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $250, jail term up to 30 days, license and registration suspension

Inside Oklahoma- Auto Insurance