In the state of Ohio, Auto liability insurance is required for all vehicles and stiff penalties and fines are imposed for those who fail to carry it or show proof of it when required.
- All vehicles must maintain proof of FR for as long as it is registered to be driven in the state
If you fail to provide proof of FR, you may be subject to the following penalties by the state of Ohio:
- License plate and vehicle registration suspension
- Loss of driving privileges for up to 2 years
- Stiff fees and penalties for renewal of license plate and driver’s license up to $500 depending on the number of violations
- Being required to file an SR-22 with your insurance company (which will substantially increase your rates) and keep that on file with the state for 3 to 5 years.
- Vehicle impound and confiscation of license plates for up to 60 days if you violate a suspension.
The Ohio Department of Insurance
2100 Stella Court
Columbus, Ohio 43215-1067
Ohio (OH) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 12.5/25/7.5 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: First Offense = Suspension of License for
Ninety Days Plus Reinstatement Fee of $75