Insurance must be provided by a business licensed to insure in North Carolina, and you must provide the proof of insurance sent by that company.
- All registered vehicles in the state must carry at least the minimum levels of liability insurance
- The Minimum levels of insurance required are: $30,000 for bodily injury for one person and $60,000 for injury to more than one person per accident as well as $25,000 coverage for damage done to property.
- The law stipulates that you must carry proof of your insurance coverage in the vehicle at all times.
- Your insurance company must notify the state if there is a lapse in your coverage for any reason
If there is a lapse in your coverage you will receive a form notice from the state DMV that you must respond to within 10 days. If there has been a bona-fide lapse in coverage, you will have to pay a $50.00 fine. Failure to respond within 10 days will cause you to lose your license plate. You will have to pay to have your vehicle licensed again.
Consumer Services Div.
North Carolina Dept. of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
Phone Toll Free: 1-800-546-5664
North Carolina (NC) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 30/60/25 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: First Offense = Fine of $50 and Driver’s License Suspension for Thirty Days