In Michigan, you must use a policy issued within the state, even if you come from another no-fault insurance state. Mandated coverage includes property damage and bodily injury, as well as PIP (personal injury protection), as well as property protection insurance.
1. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) will cover you if you are driving or riding in a vehicle in any state in the U.S. as well as in Canada. It also covers you if you are a pedestrian in an accident. he PIP will pay up to $1,000,000 maximum per accident, excluding vehicles unless they are legally parked.
2. Residual Liability Insurance is more of an extra, or umbrella policy to provide extra protection in case you are sued in an accident under special circumstances. Minimum coverage amounts for this type of insurance are:
- $20,000 per person injured
- $40,000 total injuries for persons
- $10,000 for property damage
Michigan Department of auto insurance
P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909
Michigan (MI) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 20/40/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Other Mandatory Insurance: Personal Injury Protection — No Fault State
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: First Offense = Fine of up to $500 or Jail Term of up to One Year