Maryland- Auto Insurance

Maryland makes mandatory two types of insurance: personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured motorist. Liability insurance is only one of three types of insurance coverage you are required to carry while driving in the state. The minimum levels required are:

  • $20,000 bodily injury per person
  • $40,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 per accident property damage

Contact:

Maryland Insurance Admin.
525 Saint Paul Place
Baltimore, MD 21202-2272
Phone: 1-410-468-2000
Toll Free: 1-800-492-6116

Web Site: www.mdinsurance.state.md.us

Maryland (MD) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:

  • Liability: 20/40/15 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Other Mandatory Insurance: Personal Injury Protection, Uninsured Motorist
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory car insurance: Fine up to $1000 and up to one year in jail

Inside Maryland- Auto Insurance