In Maine, your insurance policy must have at least the following coverage levels in order to meet state standards:
- $50,000 for injury or death of a single person
- $100,000 for injury or death of more than one person
- $25,000 for damage to property
- $1,000 medical payment coverage
- If you plan to drive it on public roads or highways it must be insured, even if it is a motorcycle or a moped.
- Your insurance company will give you an insurance card with your renewal every year. You must carry this renewal card in your vehicle at all times and surrender it to a police officer if they request it.
- Penalties for non-compliance can include suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration which will require hefty payments in fees and fines in order to recover from.
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Maine Bureau of Insurance
No. 34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034
Toll Free: 1-800-300-5000
Maine (ME) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 50/100/25 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Other Mandatory automobile insurance: Uninsured Motorist, Underinsured Motorist
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500, license registration suspension up to 30 days