Louisiana- Auto Insurance

Drivers in Louisiana have very specific requirements to meet when it comes to auto insurance, and the penalties for failing to comply can be extremely strict. In addition to coverage standards, you must be in compliance with Louisiana’s policies for notifying the state of your insurance coverage changes.

Guidelines

  • You may be required to show proof of insurance in Louisiana if you’re pulled over by an officer, when you apply for registration, or even possibly when you’re renewing a driver’s license.
  • Generally, proof of insurance can be satisfied by carrying your insurance card in your car’s glove box at all times.
  • Louisiana state law requires that you carry at least $15,000 coverage per person and $30,000 per accident for death or injury, and $25,000 for property damage coverage.
  • If you cannot provide an insurance card, you could face fines, penalties and suspension of your registration. You will have a grace period to allow you a chance to comply with the regulations and produce proof of coverage.

Contact:

Physical Address:

Louisiana Department of Insurance

The Poydras Building

1702 North 3rd St.

Baton Rouge, LA

Mailing Address:

Louisiana Department of Insurance

Post Office Box 94214

Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Phone: 1-225-342-0895

Toll Free: 1-800-259-5301

Web Site: www.ldi.state.la.us

Email: public@ldi.state.la.us

 Louisiana (LA) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:

  • Liability: 10/20/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of car insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Confiscation of license plate plus reinstatement fee of $50

Inside Louisiana- Auto Insurance