According to state law, when you sign your vehicle registration application, you are affirming that your car will be adequately insured for the duration of the registration period. You also need to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times.
- If you want to operate your vehicle legally in the state of Illinois, you must carry the minimum amounts of coverage specified by the law.
- The minimum liability coverage amounts are: $20,000 for the injury or death of one person in a collision, $40,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a collision, and $15,000 for property damage.
- You must have insurance at the time you register your vehicle.
The state of Illinois enforces the mandatory minimum auto insurance laws by sending out questionnaires randomly and issuing traffic citations. You can receive a traffic ticket if you are pulled over or involved in a collision and are found to be uninsured. The consequences will include suspended license plates and a minimum fine of $500 for driving without insurance. If you drive your vehicle while the license plates are suspended, you will face a minimum fine of $1,000.
After a first-time offense, you can have your license plates reinstated if you pay a $100 fee and show proof of insurance.
Illinois Div. of Insurance
320 West Washington Street
Springfield, IL 62767-0001
James R. Thompson Center
100 W. Randolph Street, Suite 9-301
Chicago, IL 60601-3395
Illinois (IL) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 20/40/15 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Other Mandatory Insurance: Uninsured Motorist
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $1000