Delaware residents must follow specific guidelines about auto insurance coverage.
- In Delaware, you cannot register your car until you can prove that you have insurance first.
- Vehicles are randomly checked for insurance coverage in Delaware, and insurance companies are required to notify the state when coverage ends. Not having coverage could result in a fine, loss of registration or loss of driver’s license.
- For Delaware, the minimums are $15,000 liability for one person injured, $30,000 for all people injured, and $10,000 for property damage.
- Your insurance company will cover costs for medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers, which under law must be at least $15,000 for one person and $30,000 for all people.
- Delaware follows a Tort system, which means someone is found to be at fault in an accident who is responsible for all the damages.
Delaware Dept. of Insurance
841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904
Toll Free: 1-800-282-8611
- Liability: 15/30/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Other Mandatory Insurance: Personal Injury Protection
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $2000, suspension up to six months of license