Insurance laws change when you switch jurisdictions, which can alter coverage for liability, property damage, mandatory minimums and required documentation.
- In Colorado, you cannot register your car until you can prove that you have insurance first.
- If you are pulled over and cannot prove that you have liability insurance, you have the risk of a minimum $500 fine, and four points placed on your motor vehicle record, which certainly cause your premiums to change. A second offense brings with it a minimum $1,000 fine plus a four-month suspension. A third violation also has a $1,000 fine, an eight-month suspension, and likely community service.
- For Colorado, the minimum s are $25,000 for injury of one person and $50,000 for injury of more than one person; and at least a $15,000 property damage maximum for one accident.
- If you are living out of state seasonally, or serving in the military, you may be eligible for an exemption to the mandatory insurance law.
The Colorado Dept. of Insurance
1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202
Toll Free: 1-800-930-3745
Colorado (CO) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 25/50/15 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500