In Arizona, state laws require that all vehicles maintain liability insurance through a company that is authorized to provide auto insurance in the state. In order to avoid possible suspension of license or vehicle registration, you must adhere to the state guidelines.
- If you intend to drive a vehicle of any kind within the state it must have insurance coverage at the minimum levels required by the state.
- During any traffic stop or accident, DPS officers will ask for proof of insurance. Failure to maintain insurance could result in a suspension of your vehicle registration or drivers license or both. The only remedy against these requires fees and an SR22 form filing which must be carried in the vehicle for three years from the date of suspension.
- Minimum coverage amounts are: $15,000 bodily injury liability per person and $30,000 for two or more persons involved in an accident as well as $10,000 property damage liability.
Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 North 44th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
Web Site: www.id.state.az.us
Arizona (AZ) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:
- Liability: 15/30/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
- Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – If Involved in an accident, If stopped by authorities when driving
- Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $250 plus license suspension