Alabama- Auto Insurance

According to state law, you have responsibilities to keep your auto(s) insured to minimum levels as set by laws. In fact, all 50 states have minimum liability insurance laws, and they vary from state to state. According to the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles, all drivers must be covered by liability insurance when operating a vehicle.

Guidelines

  • No matter what vehicle type you drive, you are required to maintain a minimum of certain levels of insurance.
  • If you are pulled over by a state or local police officer, you must be able to provide authorized proof of insurance or suffer a fine.
  • If you can not later show proof in court for the time of the incident, your license and/or vehicle registration can be suspended.
  • In Alabama, the minimum levels of coverage required are $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 property damage.
  • The alternative to getting liability insurance at these levels required by state law include getting a motor vehicle liability bond or a deposit of cash in the amount of $50,000 with the state that you are willing to surrender as payment for damages or injuries in an accident for which you may be held liable.

Contact:

Alabama Dept. of Insurance
201 Monroe St.
Suite 1700
Montgomery, AL 36104
Mailing Address:
Alabama Dept. of Insurance
P O Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130-3351
Phone: 1-334-269-3550

Web Site: www.aldoi.org
Email: ConsumerServices@insurance.alabama.gov

Alabama (AL) Mandatory Auto Insurance Minimums:

  • Liability: 20/40/10 = Bodily Injury Individual/Bodily Injury Total Per Accident/Property Damage
  • Regulations Regarding Proof of Insurance: Proof Required – When Obtaining Registration, If Involved In An Accident, If Stopped By Authorities When Driving
  • Penalties For Not Carrying Mandatory Insurance: Fine up to $500, license suspension

Inside Alabama- Auto Insurance