Arizona has enacted specific law to prohibit and punish aggressive driving. According to section 28-695 (A.R.S. § 28-695) a person commits aggressive driving, either if the person exceeds a reasonable and prudent speed on the highway, or exceeds a prescribed speed limit while in certain special areas like school crossing, business or residential area, and if the person’s driving is causing an immediate hazard to another person or property, plus if two of the following violations occur:
“(a) Failure to obey traffic control devices.
(b) Overtaking and passing another vehicle on the right by driving off the pavement or main traveled portion of the roadway.
(c) Unsafe lane change.
(d) Following a vehicle too closely.
(e) Failure to yield the right-of-way.” A.R.S. § 28-695
Under section 28-701.02, excessive speed means: “exceed thirty-five miles per hour approaching a school crossing, exceed the posted speed limit in a business or residential district by more than twenty miles per hour, or if no speed limit is posted, exceed forty-five miles per hour, And exceed eighty-five miles per hour in other locations.” A.R.S. § 28-701.02. Also under section 28-701 (A.R.S. § 28-701) reasonable and prudent speed limit for the special areas are: “1. Fifteen miles per hour approaching a school crossing. 2. Twenty-five miles per hour in a business or residential district. 3. Sixty-five miles per hour in other locations.” A.R.S. § 28-701.
The crux of the Arizona law is that a person’s driving should not be a direct hazard to another person or property. Hence, a person is deemed guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor if convicted of aggressive driving. Upon conviction the person’s driving license is suspended for 30 days. Further, Arizona has adopted reformative measures to correct the convicted driver. The convicted driver is required to attend and successfully complete approved traffic survival school training and educational sessions. These sessions are approved by the department and are designed to improve the safety and habits of drivers.
If the person is convicted for the second time, which is within a period of 24 months, then the department suspends the person’s license for 1 year.