Tennessee Drivers License Hardship Law


Drivers Hardship License Law – General – Tennessee

Drivers are eligible for a restricted license after being revoked or suspended for certain violations. Any other cancellations, suspensions, or revocations must be reinstated before you are eligible for a restricted driver license. The following are violations where a restricted license can be applied for and the requirements for obtaining the restricted license:

DUI (1ST OFFENSE) T.C.A. 55-10-403, IMPLIED CONSENT T.C.A. 55-10-406, AND DRAG RACING, 55-10-503

Obtain a certified order from court where you were convicted, or the court in the county of residence, to drive to and from your regular place of employment, or going to and from and attending a court-ordered alcohol DUI program, or to and from school if you are enrolled full time in a college or university, or to a scheduled interlock monitoring appointment.

Obtain SR-22 from your liability insurance company.

Pay the $67.00 driver license fee.

Pass a driver license examination.

You must present the original and one copy of the order, SR-22 and $67 fee to Driver License Examiner within 10 days of order being certified.

FREQUENT TRAFFIC VIOLATION SUSPENSION T.C.A. 55-50-505

Request a Driver Improvement Restricted Application Form by writing the Driver Improvement Office or calling (615) 251-5117, or from the Hearing Officer on the date of the hearing. All information on the form must be completed.

Submit the completed form to Driver Improvement Section, 1150 Foster Avenue, Nashville, TN 37210 for approval. Driver Improvement will return the application either approved or denied.

Obtain SR-22 from your liability insurance company. Present the approved application form, SR-22 form, and the $67 driver license fee to Driver License Examiner and pass a driver license examination.

DRUG FREE YOUTH ACT (DFYA) –T.C.A. 55-10-705

For a first offense:
Obtain a certified order from court where you were convicted to drive to and from an education institution or to drive to and from your regular place of employment. Pay a $20 driver license fee and pass the driver license examination. If you are under 18, submit a completed compulsory school attendance form if this is the first time you have applied for a TN driver license. Present the order, $20 fee, and school form, if needed, to the Driver License Examiner.

For a second offense:
Suspension for 1ST offense must be reinstated.
Must serve one year of 2nd offense suspension period
Obtain a certified order from the court where you were convicted to drive to and from an education institution or to and from your regular place of employment.
Pay a $20 driver license fee.
Pass the driver license examination.
If you are under 18, submit a completed compulsory school attendance form if this is the first time you have applied for a TN driver license.
Present the order, $20 fee, and school form, if needed, to the Driver License Examiner.

18-20 YEAR OLD ALCOHOL BEVERAGE VIOLATION – 1ST OFFENSE T.C.A 57-4-203 & 55-10-705

For a first offense:
Obtain a certified order from the court where you were convicted to drive to and from an education institution or to and from your regular place of employment. Pay a $20 driver license fee and pass the driver license examination. Present the order and $20 fee to the Driver License Examiner.

For a second offense:
Suspension for 1ST offense must be reinstated.
Must serve one year of 2nd offense suspension period.
Obtain a certified order from the court where you were convicted to drive to and from an education institution or to and from your regular place of employment. Pay a $20 driver license fee and pass the driver license examination. Present the order and $20 fee to the Driver License Examiner

FAILURE TO ESTABLISH FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOLLOWING AN ACCIDENT OR FINAL JUDGMENT ON AN ACCIDENT. (VALID ONLY WHILE DRIVING COMPANY VEHICLES ON COMPANY BUSINESS) T.C.A. 55-12-132

Submit a letter from your employer requesting a restricted license and that you will be driving company vehicles on the job. Submit the SR-22 form from the employer’s insurance company filed in the name of the employer and on behalf of yourself (employee applying for the restricted license).Submit the required restoration fee. The above items must be submitted at a Reinstatement Office for approval of the restricted license to be issued. Present the approval letter, along with $67 driver license fee, to a Driver License Examiner. Must pass a driver license examination.

DUPLICATE RESTRICTED DRIVER LICENSE

If changing your residence address or place/hours or other restrictions of employment, you must obtain a new order from the court listing the correct information. If the restricted license is for frequent traffic violations, you must complete a new Driver Improvement Application and be approved.
Present the new order or form at the Driver License Station, along with appropriate duplicate driver license fee ($8 or $12).
If your license is lost, you must present a copy of court order or approved form at the Driver License Station and pay the appropriate duplicate driver license fee.

FREQUENT REASONS FOR DENIAL OF RESTRICTED DRIVER LICENSE APPLICATION

When an application is received by Financial Responsibility, the application and driving record are reviewed. The restricted driver license will be denied for the following reasons:

*The DUI occurred on or after July 1, 2000 and there is a prior conviction of DUI, Vehicular Homicide, Aggravated Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault, or Adult Driving While Impaired on the driver’s record.
* The order is issued for a suspension/revocation for which there is no authority to issue a restricted license.
* The requested route is not for an authorized location (alcohol program, school, work, or interlock appointment).
* The order doesn’t state the violation, date of violation, conviction date, and disposition.
* The order is not signed by the judge or if Driver Improvement Section approval has not been granted.
* A check of the driver records shows person has another; revocation/suspension/cancellation. You must reinstate everything on your driver record, except for the violation for which the restricted license is being requested. If you have a violation that cannot be reinstated, a restricted license cannot be issued.
* Any Implied Consent or DUI violations after 7-1-98 requires proof of insurance for the date of violation. If the restricted order does not list insurance in effect on that date, the restricted license will be denied until such liability insurance is proven. If you were not insured on the date of violation, then a $65 reinstatement fee is also required.
* If you have a revocation/suspension in another state, a check is done to determine the problem in the other state. If you have a problem other than the violation for which the restricted license is being issued, the restricted license will be until the problem in the other state is cleared.
* The SR-22 is not for the State of Tennessee or the company is not licensed in Tennessee.